Wyandotte County Ethnic Festival


2023 Tentative Entertainment Schedule

 * Schedule is subject to change

Master of Ceremonies is Mr. Clarence Small of KCK NAACP 

Saturday, April 15th

11:00 Sheriff's Department - Honor Guard "Presentation of the Colors" - Captain Michael Kroening

11:05 a.m. Shawn and Gloria Derritt vocals "The Star-Spangled Banner" & "America the Beautiful"  

11:30 a.m. Hvartski Obicaj - Croatian String Orchestra 

11:55 Mavka Ukranian Dancers

12:05 a.m. Kolograd - Balkan & East European Trio- Jim Baric

12:35 p.m. KCKCC Foundation Dedication- Mary Spangler 

Unified Government of WyCo Dedication - Phyllis Wallace Director UG Human Services

Why This Year's Festival is Special - Curtis V. Smith, Ph.D. Coordinator WyCo Ethnic Festival

Legends of Diversity Awards to Rose Marie Mendez and Brian Patrick 

1:05 Nartan Dancers

1:40 p.m. Tez and Tam Liturgical Spirituals - Cortez Liggins

2:10 p.m. Gamelan Genta Kasturi (Indonesian) - Marti Wilson  

2:25 p.m. HK Chinese Folk Dance - Hoi Kei Au

2:50 p.m. Rose Marie's Fiesta Mexicana - Rose Marie Mendez 

David Haley - Kansas Senator 4th District  

 3:20 p.m. S.V. Blautaler Schuhplatter - German Dancers - Cynthia Pearson 

3:50 p.m. Sabor a Peru - first performance - Cecilia Mosher

4:00 p.m. Driscoll Irish Dancers - Brigid Driscoll

4:30 p.m. Sabor a Peru - second performance - Cecilia Mosher

4:50 p.m. Laotian Dancers 

Sunday, April 16th

12:00 p.m. Deepa Realite Reggae Band 

The founders of the band are Gregory Blumasa Miller - on drums

and Kourage - lead vocals and guitar. 

Dave Green - bass, Aryana Nemati saxophone and vocals

Tommy Mills - guitar and Luciano Rivera - keyboards

Kara Walling Ford - on keys, and Leah Jael Becker -Ricketts on background vocals 

2 p.m.  Rizz Illuminated - eclectic world music 

2:30 p.m.  Thai Chi Fan Dance - Siew Lau

3:00 p.m. Middle Eastern Dance - Theresa Maze (Heart of America Arab Cultural Arts)  

3:30 p.m. Music from Columbia - Gustavo Restrepo

4:00 p.m. Kenyan Dancers 


 Legends of Diversity Award History

2023 - Rose Marie Mendez and Brian Patrick

2020-21-22 Cancelled due to Covid-19

2019 - Gordon Criswell and Dr. Hira Nair

2018 Dr. Ewa Unoke and the Pedalin' William Jewell Professor, Ed Chasteen

2017 Barbara Clark-Evans and Eyyup Esen

2016- Irene Caudillo and Alvin Sykes

2015 - Janith English and Kamiasha Tyner

2014 - Karen Hernandez and Melanie Scott 

2013- Helen Folsom and Carol Levers

2012- Ed Grisnik and Chester Owens

2011- Pat Adams and Loren Taylor